ESREA 2017

The following information is taken from ESREA.

ESREA – the European Society for Reseach on the Education of Adults – promotes and disseminates theorectial and empirical research on the education of adults and adult learning in Europe through research networks, conferences and publications. Active members come from most part of Europe.

The secretariat of ESREA is located at the department of behavioural sciences and learning at Linköping University in Sweden. ESREA is in legal terms a non-profit organization governed under Swedish law.

ESREA Gender Network

The ESREA Nwtwork on Gender and Adult Learning was convened by Associate Professor Joanna Ostrouch-Kamińska, University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn, Poland.

The purpose of this network is to shed more light upon this field of gender in adult education in Europe. Reports of research are discussed in terms of their theoretical aspects such as gendered learning, gender in higher education, gendered biographies, masculinities-femininities, gender in adult training, but also in terms of their methodological dimensions.

ESREA envisaged establishing a gender research network from the beginning of its activities in 1991. However, it was only in 1996, during an international conference on education in Sweden, that Agnieszka Bron, Stockholm University, Barbara Merrill, Warwick University, and Edmée Ollagnier, Geneva University took the initiative to activate the ESREA gender network during a friendly lunch in a Viking village. During the ESREA European Research Conference in Brussels in September 1998, concrete decisions were made and future activities planned.

The network now meets every two years.

History of meetings:

1999 – University of Bochum, Germany.

2000 – a joint meeting with ESREA network on Life-History and Biographical Research at the Roskilde University, Denmark.

2001 – University of Geneva, Switzerland.

2004 – a post-conference meeting following the ESREA European Research Conference at the University of Wroclaw, Poland.

2005 – University of Geneva, Switzerland.
2007 – University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn, Poland.

2009 – University of Hull, United Kingdom.

2011 – University of Montpellier, France

2013 – University of Coimbra, Portugal
2015 – University of Belgrade, Serbia